RACE ATTENDENCE

All things RC

RACE ATTENDENCE

Postby David Brown on Mon Aug 25, 2014 8:25 am

Lets see if we can figure out how to boost attendance. What do we need to change?
DAVID BROWN
David Brown

Re: RACE ATTENDENCE

Postby Brian Davis on Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:45 am

What about a large race? Post it on various forums and try to pull racers from out of town. Weather might be a problem, though.
Brian Davis

Postby zach51 on Mon Aug 25, 2014 1:35 pm

There are just so many other things out there for people to do on the weekends. I dont even have a wife or kids, and I've been racing for 15 years. On a nice weekend it is just hard to want to blow a full day on sitting at the track, racing 5 minutes then sitting for an hour waiting on your next race. The whole time I would be sitting there thinking of all the other stuff I could be out doing. Cars, motors, batteries, etc are better than they used to be, and more reliable. I think you should shake up the progam a bit. Instead of the old "3 heats and a main" mentality that has been out there for years, speed up the program and run something else. Maybe 2 qualifiers then a main, then invert the main and run again?

I'm just speaking from my own personal preference, but I think you have to figure out a way to give guys more track time and improve the experience of a raceday. I just have a hard time sitting still, that is one main reason I don't go to big races anymore. I dont want to race for 5 minutes then sit for 4 hours.
Zach Garner -- Mobile, AL
Associated B5 - Tekin - Futaba
Associated RC8.2 - Novarossi - Futaba
Associated RC8.2e - LRP - Futaba
zach51

Postby David Brown on Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:39 pm

FYI,we run two heats and a main.Heats are 6 mins and mains are between 8 & 15 mins.I was mainly talking about getting more people to come out and race, we used to have as high as 30 to 40 entry..
DAVID BROWN
David Brown

Postby dhunt488 on Mon Aug 25, 2014 8:58 pm